Moltmann on Identity, the Cross, & Discipleship

Hopefully tomorrow I will start posting outlines of Moltmann’s works, starting with The Crucified God.  These will be nothing fancy, just lightly edited and adapted entries from my academic journal.  I’m hopeful that if formatted properly they will stimulate some interesting conversation.  In anticipation of that, here is a quote I found quite moving:

Anyone who does not put himself to the test is hardly tried or tested at all.  Only when, with all the understanding and consistency he possesses, a man follows Christ along the way of self-emptying into non-identity, does he encounter contradiction, resistance and opposition.  Only when he leaves behind the circle of those who share and reinforce his opinions in the church, to go out into the anonymity of slums and peace movements, in a society ‘where the absence of peace is organized’, is he tempted and tested, inwardly and outwardly.    Then the crisis inevitably comes, in which the identity of that for which he involves and commits himself comes into question, and a decision has to be made about it [18].

 

2 responses to “Moltmann on Identity, the Cross, & Discipleship

  1. Derek,

    I actually just finished writing about the contents of Moltmann’s quote right before I stopped by here to see what new thoughts you had for us. Coincidence or the workings of fate? hmmm… Nevertheless, I too am moved by this consideration as it seems so congruent with my own experience.

    Aaron

  2. brainofdtrain,

    My blog has moved to my new web page. My new site is http://claudemariottini.com/. I would appreciate if you would update your blogroll. I am updating my blog roll and will include your blog on my web page. Are you still blogging? Please, let me know so that I can list your blog on my web page.

    Claude Mariottini

Leave a Reply

