New Blog to Check Out

 

Hi eveyone,

I hope to continue my contemporary views series tonight, but for now i want to encourage everyone to check out a new blog i have found.  It is called Faith and Alternatives.  I am excited about this blog because it was just started up by a former professor of mine, Mark Alterman.  He is honestly one of the most brilliant men i have ever known.  He knows roughly 80 ancient languages (a little over the top, but just a little).  He is also very kind, being patient with students, and always approaches other scholar’s work in a charitable manner, pointing out why they have good to offer, as opposed to a purely negative approach.  I honestly think that he has taught me how to talk and interact with other people’s work with grace.  Alterman taught me how to do theology communally. 

Anyway, enough gushing on about how good of a prof he is.  His blog is in a Q & A format.  He poses a question, then hopes to interact with others.  I think that it would be worth everyone’s time to dialogue with him.

4 responses to “New Blog to Check Out

  1. Hi. I’m not sure if I’m in the right place. Is there a blog posted by Mark? I’d love to read it though I’m not sure if it is very simple to find and I’m missing it, or if this is it. Though I know you said it was in Q&A form so I’ll assume I’m missing it until further notice. Anyway, hope all is well. I wish I weren’t so bloglost.

  2. Hi Heather,

    click on the name of alterman’s blog “faith and alternatives” in my post. It is a hyperlink, which is a fancy way of saying that you can get to his blog site from there. Blessings, and good luck navigating the blogosphere.

    derek

  3. Heather,
    I’m still waiting to hear from you. Just click Faith and Alternatives above, then post a comment, even a brief one.
    Mark

  4. In case you haven’t noticed I changed the name of my blog to “Faith Matters” shamelessly ripping off cousin Eric’s “Media Matters.” I think some people found the old title confusing. The url is still the same, though: alterfaith.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

