What is the Point?

question-mark-1.jpg

Well i’ve been blogging for about two years now i think, and have come to really enjoy it.  I think it is a rather fun way to article my thoughts.  However, one of my frustrations in blogging has been the fact that most of the time people visit my blog and read my posts, they don’t comment.  On a recent post of mine, i commented on this to someone who does dialogue with me, and they said “I feel the same way. What is the point of having a blog if people don’t comment?”

Now i’m not saying that i don’t appreciate people checking out my blog, in fact i’m just happy to see people actually want to hear my silly thoughts.  That being said, i wish i could garner more interaction from those who read.  I suspect that the reason why people don’t comment is due to the way i write posts.  So my question is: how can i write posts that encourage interaction, but still possess the content i want to write?  I’m aware of the irony of writing a post about the lack of comments hoping to draw some out, but how else can i talk to most of you?

10 responses to “What is the Point?

  1. As the ‘someone’ referenced above, I have to say that I often ask myself questions about how to generate more interaction on my own blog. It seems like a difficult thing to do.

    My own commenting style is simply to say something when I have something to say about something I read on a blog. Even if it is just a short comment expressing appreciation, I try to let an author know when they said something I find interesting.

    Much beyond that, and I fear that a blogger could fall victim to the desire to be provocative or argumentative for the sake of generating interaction. That isn’t something that I want to see.

    It is certainly a quandary.

  2. Like yourself, I have a tendency to lament the few comments my blog attracts. But, I also don’t want to play the games some bloggers play to attract more comments.

    Maggi Dawn suggested recently, that bloggers should adjust their expectations and be a little more like writers; maybe we shouldn’t expect constant feedback.

    I read 30 odd blogs most days and another 100 or so get a look at least once a week. At most I can make time for 2-3 comments a day and some weeks I don’t get around to making any comments at all. That’s a lot of excellent blogging that misses out on a word from me. I imagine the same is true for most blog-readers (lots that I know don’t have time to check out anywhere near as many blogs as all that).

  3. I understand exactly how you feel. I think we need to adjust our expectations. I find I get about one comment for every 100 visits to mine. It’s even true on the theological german site I designed to be interactive/educational.
    But then I realize, as fernando said, I visit many and comment only rarely. In fact, I probably comment more often than I would otherwise, because it makes me aware that bloggers like to be reassured that someone is listening.

  4. Something else I wonder about and am just too darn lazy to check on is the effect of RSS readers. When I look at blogs via GoogleReader, does that count as a visit to the site in SiteMeter or some such counter? I don’t think so. Yet most of my blog reading is done within Reader.

    Personally, I struggled with the same issue and I came to the resolution that I don’t care (well, at least most of the time) how many comments I get. I revised my purpose for blogging and the new purpose was too work out stuff for myself. To be honest, while comments themselves are nice, many (most?) comments are pretty much useless for continuing to struggle with ideas. Not all, mind you, but many. They are usually of the “Preach it, brother” or the “Yeah, but I think this” (and the “this” is wrong or off topic or just plain stupid).

    Of course, when I specifically ASK for comments and get none, then that’s a bit of a downer.

    And of course, if you try real hard to be controversial or obnoxious then you’ll probably get more comments but who has the energy to do that? I’m to busy trying to figure out the important stuff.

    So, lot’s of empathy from me but keep fighting the good fight (and all that stuff 🙂 I know that I will.

  5. Not directly related to your question–but Chris Trilling at http://www.christilling.de/blog/ctblog.html has an interesting post today comparing Bultmann and evangelical hermeneutics.

    Be sure to post a reply when you read it. 🙂

  6. To all,

    thanks for the comments. I think that you are all right. There are too many excellent blogs out there! I only have a few main i check on, but i think that i’m the exception.

    Professor Alterman & Ken,

    I think you are right about reframing our view of blogging. It is more about expressing our thoughts, a theological journal of sorts. It is probably easier on our pride to think like that.

    Also, Professor, i will check out that link. Looks like it could be useful for my presentation.

    Thanks for the comments guys. It is good to know people are reading!

  7. Hi there, as I wrote on my blog:
    “feel free to use what you want. I’m just gald you found it helpful!”

  8. By the way, I really like what you are doing here – I’ve added you to my reader (if you wanted to know!)

  9. I wouldn’t worry about who comments and who doesn’t. Just do what you do and write what you write and do it for, in Kierkegaard’s words, “that one solitary reader.” Only one person reading your blog is sufficient. More than that, well that’s just cool!

  10. Chris and Jim,

    Thanks for the comments.

    Chris,

    Thanks a bunch for letting me use your ideas on Bultmann and Evangelicalism. I’ll probably include it in my presentation. I appreciate how you are letting me use your thoughts to look smart!

    Jim,

    I think that you are right. To have just one person reading is an accomplishment. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

