It’s All About Perspective

glasses-1.jpg 

I’ve heard this line often in my lifetime, that it’s all about perspective.  I’ve learned that to a significant degree, it is true, especially when it comes to church history.  As an example, check out these rather satirical quotes from professors at Duke that i found here:

Protestants on Catholics:
“The Catholic church is like an attic where a bunch of rubbish is stored; but sort through it and there’s hidden treasure buried deep under all the crap.”

Catholics on Protestants:
“Protestants are content with so little; they took a few things like the bible and a few doctrines they think come from the bible alone, but they discarded all the rich treasures of the church, like Siberians tossing off babies to the ravenous wolves behind them.”

While i obviously disagree with each view entirely, i do think that each quote rather humorously points out our myopic tendencies.

One response to “It’s All About Perspective

  1. I have a little different take. As a Catholic husband married to a Baptist wife I think I have a pretty good handle on the different views.

    A Protestant goes to a Catholic service and says why do I need an individual to get btwn me and God?

    The Catholic goes to a Protestant service and says why do I need to go to this service if I don’t need anyone btwn me & God?

    As far as church history goes that’s been a favorite of mine for the past 30 years. I’ve found that secondary sources while many are well intentioned are not reliable regardless of which of the three side you draw from (Catholic, Protestant or Orthodox).

    My favorite Historian Moto that I have on my blog is from an Anglican back in 1907:

    It has been very well observed that there is no such thing as an impartial historian. Every man who sets out to trace the development of life, whether in politics, religion, or art, is bound to do so with some theory in his mind… The historian, or the theologian, who is most nearly impartial is not he who has no view, but he who is aware of other views, and can give them due consideration.” — Monsignor Robert Hugh Benson

    Over the years I’ve tried to recognize it more in myself, if it only came as easily as I recognize it in others.

Leave a Reply

