Habits of a Graduate Student

A while ago i came across this list (click here) , which uses the Stephen Covey phraseology of “the seven habits of highly effective {fill in blank}” to articulate how to be a highly effective graduate student. 

Since a good share of my readers are graduate students, i would love to here your thoughts on this list.

5 responses to “Habits of a Graduate Student

  1. I think the linked list is solid. I would just add that theology students should especially be spending time in Greek and Hebrew exegesis of the canon and the church fathers. I am working on biblical/systematic theology and I have found that simply reading through large chunks of scripture has been a profound source of clarity to my work. It has often kept me from straying too far into useless speculation (of which theology/philosophy is rife).

    I swim in very Barthian circles over here and it is not difficult to let your mind wander into some ‘less than canonical ways’ of talking about reality. That’s my two pence or just my conscience on the matter.

  2. dru,

    Thanks for stopping by. I agree with you on the need for exegesis of and engagement with the earliest witnesses to the Christian faith. Actually, right now i am exegeting (or attempting to) the “Christology hymn” in Philippians 2. It is proving to be quite a shift in gears, since i have began to focus more on my theological studies. I think it is a healthy challenge for me.

    Speaking of Barth, i am looking at his commentary a bit for the paper. He is great to read, but the more i focus on “exegesis,” the more it looks like Barth’s theological exegesis might fundamentally distort Paul.

    Peace.

  3. Hey Derek,

    I posted a brief notice (in English) on my theological German blog, that you might be interested in:

    http://ergebung.wordpress.com/2009/04/07/moltmann-kommt-nach-chicago/

    Mark

  4. Cranfield, in his commentary in the ICC on Romans 9-11 follows Barth’s exegesis very closely. He seems to think Barth is sound exegetically and theologically; and he believes Barth has solved the “problem” of election.
    That’s at least one biblical scholar who approves of Barth as an exegete.

  5. Fantastic website. A lot of useful information here.
    I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing
    in delicious. And obviously, thank you on your sweat!

Leave a Reply

