Graduation

Graduation 1

Well i made it; after a couple years of juggling ministry, marriage, and school, i have completed my MA.  It feels great!  I actually walked in last May, but had to finish up two summer courses before it would be official.  At 5:21 pm today i turned in my last paper (a 21 pager on a theology of adoption). 

I am very thankful for the opportunity, and for a loving and gracious wife who gave up so much for me to do this; thanks babe!

I am ready for a bit of a break, but the GRE is looming, and due to my summer courses i haven’t started to work on it.    Also, i am looking forward to start blogging consistently again.

Lastly, i can’t help but want to read; the question now is what?  My goal is to read a book a week and study for the GRE for the next few months.  So here is a way to (hopefully) get the conversation going: what (or who) should i read next?

4 responses to “Graduation

  1. Congratz!

    Pick a theologian and become an expert: Calvin, Luther, Augustine, Moltmann, Gunton, anyone. 🙂

  2. Travis,

    Thanks for the kudos. That is one idea i am considering. I was thinking about dividing my reading into month-blocks. Each month would be committed to a particular thinker, movement, theological topic, etc.

    I know that it is good to plan, but the main thing is that i keep reading. Thanks for stopping by Travis!

  3. Congratulations Derek!

    I hope you can make it to our conference in Manhattan in about a month (Oct 16-17). And, be the first to sign up to present next year.

Leave a Reply

